Login |  Register |  help
Mustangs Sports

                                                           WESTFALL BASEBALL HISTORY

Westfall began competing in baseaball as a varsity sport in 1965 under the first coach Mr. Paul Hoskins. During Coach Hoskins tenure the Mustangs won  5 league titles and 2 sectional championships. Mr.Hoskins career record at Westfall was 113-37-2. He coached several outstanding players at Westfall including State Record Holder Gene Carfrey SVC Player of the Year 1969, as well as SVC Player of the Year 1970, Greg Bigam. Coach Hoskins was named SVC Coach of the year three times during his career at Westfall. Several other coaches followed Coach Hoskins over the next twelve years including, John Butts, Greg Bigam, and Dick Wellington. In 1984 the son of the cross county Logan Elm Braves coach, Randy Pontius became the Head Coach at Westfall High School. Coach Pontius was the head coach from 1984 until 1994 winning 4 Scioto Valley Conference Titles and finishing as district runner up twice. He was fortunate enough to have coached several great players including three players of the year, in Tracey Winner, Toby Liff, and Larry Crabtree. Coach Pontius was named SVC coach of the year in 1986,1989,1990,and 1992. Coach Pontius was followed by Dan Bowen for a year, followed by Phil England for a few years, Kent Wolfe a year and now the current head coach, Trevor Thomas in 2001.

Scioto Valley Conference Championships
1967                                  1968                                           1969
1970                                   1972                                          1986                  
1988                                   1989                                          1992                                        
 2005                                  2010

Sectional Championships
1969                                   1970                                          1989
1994                                   1999                                           2001
2005                                   2007                                           2008
2009                                   2010

District Championships
ZACH WOLFE             2010
BEN CLINE                  2009
BILLY FULLEN            2008
JOE MORRIS               2006
JOE MORRIS               2005
LEE FAUSNAUGH          2005
JOE MORRIS               2004
JOE MORRIS               2003
SCOTT BOWEN          1995


Coach                                      Years                    Record
Trevor Thomas            2001-Present                131-93
Kent Wolfe                   2000                                     9-16
Phil England                 1996-1999
Dan Bowen                  1995
Randy Pontius             1984-1994                      126-121
Greg Bigam                 1980-1983                      27-38-1
John Butts                    1977-1979                              7-15
Dick Wellington           1975-1978                            11-23
Al Gabriel                    1973-1974                             21-13
Paul Hoskins               1965-1972                       113-37-2



This page was created in 0.1094 seconds on server 132